APayNow QR
Expand to read the labels.
What to know
PayNow QR
The customer’s bank debits the account and sends a FAST credit transfer, so the merchant is credited almost at once, before the banks settle with each other.
- Customer
- Free no PayNow fee, and merchants may not surcharge
- Merchant
- S$0.20 per incoming transfer at UOB, waived until 2028
- Credit
- Immediately at UOB
Key facts
- The label carries the PayNow ID, which is the UEN for a business. Each label is tied to it at UOB.
- The app shows the registered company name, or a nickname for an individual, and asks for amount if absent from the QR code scanned.
- Banks settle with each other in net amounts through MAS, not payment by payment.
- Incoming payment notifications are an extra service at the major retail banks, for a small fee.
- SGQR members, the banks and other acquirers that issue labels, pay BCS an annual subscription set in 2023. It runs from S$3 per label to S$82,500 for unlimited labels, and members are encouraged to absorb it for merchants.
Notes
A blank cell means no earning or cost is reported on this flow, and Not stated marks a point with no published figure. UOB lists S$0.20 for each incoming PayNow Corporate transfer and waives it until 31 December 2028. As of October 2025, the major retail banks waive the fee on payments merchants receive, with a small fee for extras such as notifications, and PayNow is free to retail customers. What FAST earns and what the customer’s bank pays for it stay Not stated. Where PayNow QR and NETS QR sit among cards, transfers and GIRO is in How money changes hands in Singapore.
Sources (10) and open questions (3)
MAS and IMDA, response to feedback on strengthening participation in SGQR, 23 June 2023UOB, SGQR FAQ for corporatesABS, PayNowDBS, PayNow CorporateDBS, PayNow and Scan & PayWorld Bank, Singapore FAST case study, 2021MAS second reading speech, 8 January 2018MAS reply on PayNow surcharges, 14 October 2025UOB, PayNow CorporateMAS and ABS, PayNow Generation 2 Phase 1 report, Exhibit A5Open questions
- Whether banks other than DBS tell a merchant about an incoming PayNow QR payment the same way. DBS shows incoming credits in its IDEAL platform and on the account statement, and emails the merchant if it subscribes to eAlerts. At UOB the funds arrive instantly. The other banks were not read. DBS, PayNow CorporateUOB, SGQR FAQ for corporates
- How often FAST banks settle today. Settlement ran twice a day on weekdays in 2018 and in two cycles a day in 2021, per MAS and the World Bank. MAS second reading speech, 8 January 2018World Bank, Singapore FAST case study, 2021
- What banks pay each other and BCS for FAST, and so what FAST earns and what the customer’s bank pays for it, are not stated. ABS, PayNowMAS reply on PayNow surcharges, 14 October 2025

